If you haven’t heard, the state of Texas now has new guidelines for the inspection and state registration process. Texas has
moved to a “single certificate” system, meaning you’ll only need one sticker to represent both requirements!
To fully explain the new system’s requirements, our friendly Austin auto repair technicians are going to break down how it all works.
How does the Texas single sticker system work?
As of March 1, 2015, all Texas drivers have to pass a vehicle inspection before their registration can be renewed.
The only real change is that now, when you bring your car into our Austin auto repair shop for a state inspection and emissions test, you won’t receive an inspection sticker. Instead, our ASE-certified technicians will fully inspect your vehicle according to the state inspection process (the same as always). Then, we’ll put your car or truck into the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) inspection database.
If you drive a commercial vehicle, or the DPS inspection database is not available, you may also be given a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) as proof of inspection.
How will the new inspection and registration system affect Texas drivers?
Fortunately, for Texas drivers, the state inspection and registration process will remain largely the same. The cost of a state inspection at our Austin service center will even be a bit cheaper!
If the expiration dates for both stickers are the same, your vehicle is already considered “in-sync”. This means you must have your car or truck inspected within the 90-day period before your registration expires.
If the expiration dates for your inspection and registration stickers are different, don’t worry! You won’t have to go through the process twice a year. During the first year of the new program, you’ll be able to register your vehicle as soon as it passes inspection.
Commercial vehicles will continue to follow the current annual inspection requirements.
How you should handle the process moving forward
Beginning in March 2016 and moving forward, all vehicles will be required to pass a vehicle inspection within 90 days of their registration expiration date. If your vehicle doesn’t pass inspection within that time, or if you completely forget to obtain an inspection before registration, you will not be able to register your vehicle.
State inspection and emissions testing on Brodie Lane
This isn’t your typical car repair shop! Regardless of state regulations, the automotive specialists at our service center in Austin will continue to offer the same great service as always! If your registration expires soon, don’t hesitate to make an appointment for a state inspection. If you have any questions about the new law or your vehicle’s inspection and registration requirements, call to speak with one of our experts.
Call to schedule your state inspection at Christian Brothers Automotive Brodie Lane in Austin, Texas today. We’ll show you the nice difference!