Have you heard about Texas’ new guidelines for the state inspection and state registration stickers? The state of Texas has
moved to a “single certificate” system, meaning you’ll only need one sticker to represent both requirements!
To help you stay current on the new requirements, the friendly auto repair technicians at Christian Brothers Automotive Flower Mound are going to explain how everything works.
How does the Texas single sticker system work?
As of March 1, 2015, all Texas drivers need to pass a state vehicle inspection before renewing their registration.
What does this mean? Well, when you bring your car into our auto repair shop in Flower Mound for a state inspection and emissions test, you won’t receive an inspection sticker. Instead, our skilled technicians will walk your vehicle through the state inspection process (the same as always), and then put your car or truck into the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) inspection database.
If you drive a commercial vehicle, or the DPS inspection database is not available, you may also be given a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) as proof of inspection.
How will the new inspection and registration system affect Texas drivers?
For North Texas drivers, the state inspection and registration process will remain largely the same. The cost of a state inspection at our Flower Mound auto shop will even be less expensive!
If the expiration dates for your registration and inspection stickers are different, don’t worry! You won’t have to go through the process twice a year. During the first year of the new program, you’ll be able to register your vehicle as soon as it passes inspection.
If the expiration dates for both stickers are already the same, your vehicle is considered “in-sync”. This means you must have your car or truck inspected within the 90-day period before your registration expires.
Commercial vehicles will continue to follow the current annual inspection requirements.
How you should handle the process moving forward
Moving forward from March 2016, all cars, trucks and commercial vehicles will be required to pass a vehicle inspection within 90 days of their registration expiration date. If your vehicle doesn’t pass inspection within that time, or if you completely forget to obtain an inspection before registration, you will not be able to register your vehicle.
State inspection and emissions testing in Flower Mound
The dedicated experts at our auto shop near Highland Village will continue to offer the same great service as always! If your registration expires soon, don’t hesitate to make an appointment for a state inspection. If you have any questions about the new law or your vehicle’s inspection and registration requirements, call to speak with one of our professionals.
Call to schedule your state inspection at Christian Brothers Automotive in Flower Mound, Texas today. We’ll show you the nice difference!