Did you know Texas has new guidelines for the state inspection and state registration stickers? The state has moved to a “single certificate” system, meaning you’ll only need one sticker to represent both requirements!
To help you stay up-to-date on the new system, the friendly auto repair technicians at Christian Brothers Automotive Rufe Snow are going to explain how it all works.
How does the Texas single sticker system work?
As of March 1, 2015, all Texas drivers have to pass a vehicle inspection before their registration can be renewed.
This means, when you bring your car into our auto repair shop for a state inspection and emissions test, you won’t receive an inspection sticker. Instead, our knowledgeable technicians will walk your vehicle through the state inspection process (the same as always), and then put your car or truck into the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) inspection database.
If you drive a commercial vehicle, or the DPS inspection database is not available, you may also be given a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) as proof of inspection.
How will the new inspection and registration system affect Texas drivers?
Fortunately, for North Texas drivers, the state inspection and registration process will remain largely the same. The cost of a state inspection at our auto shop in North Richland Hills will even be a bit cheaper!
If the expiration dates for your registration and inspection stickers are different, don’t worry! You won’t have to go through the process twice a year. During the first year of the new program, you’ll be able to register your vehicle as soon as it passes inspection.
If the expiration dates for both stickers are the same, your vehicle is already considered “in-sync”. This means you must have your car or truck inspected within the 90-day period before your registration expires.
Commercial vehicles will continue to follow the current annual inspection requirements.
How you should handle the process moving forward
Beginning in March 2016 and moving forward, all vehicles will be required to pass a vehicle inspection within 90 days of their registration expiration date. If your vehicle doesn’t pass inspection within that time, or if you completely forget to obtain an inspection before registration, you will not be able to register your vehicle.
State inspection and emissions testing in North Richland Hills
The dedicated professionals at our auto shop near Fort Worth will continue to offer the same great service as always! If your registration expires soon, don’t hesitate to make an appointment for a state inspection. If you have any questions about the new law or your vehicle’s inspection and registration requirements, call to speak with one of our experts.
Call to schedule your state inspection at Christian Brothers Automotive Rufe Snow in North Richland Hills, Texas today. We’ll show you the nice difference!